Skip to product information
1 of 8


Bach-Wegrzyk, Suite n°1 BWV 1007

Bach-Wegrzyk, Suite n°1 BWV 1007

Regular price €15.50 EUR
Regular price Sale price €15.50 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
View full details

J.S.Bach, Suite n°1 BWV 1007

BACH COLLECTION by Marek Wegrzyk

This new series of Bach transcriptions for six-string guitar proposes a radically innovative approach from the start by using an altered tuning: E, A, C#, F#, B, E. The third string in F# is obviously a very well-known change, but the fourth string in C# was an experiment that created surprising results. By no means is it a miracle solution, but it provides more fluid and comfortable fingerings and enhances certain tonalities (D major, A major, B minor, F# minor), which enables multiple original harmonic solutions.

About Suite No. 1, BVW 1007
Bach always took great care when choosing the keys for his solo instrumental works. It is certainly no coincidence that the keys of five of his cello suites stem from the tunings of three of the instrument’s open strings. Here, the choice of A major arises from the guitar’s open fifth string which is analogous to the G major relating to the cello’s third open string. This idea inspires yet another change of tuning (6th string- D) which is essential to maintain the original perfect fifth interval between the last two strings. This keeps the tonal range remarkably close to the original and allows Bach’s musical intentions to be revealed more faithfully

  • Product: Digital PDF or Print on Demand
  • Pages: 28
  • Level: Intermediate 
  • Order number: BE-230211
  • ISMN 979-0-706831-93-0

Listen to Marek Wegrzyk playing Suite n°1 BWV 1007:






Menuets I+II:


Customer Reviews

Based on 2 reviews Write a review