Skip to product information
1 of 7


Schubert-Ovesen, Arpeggione Sonata

Schubert-Ovesen, Arpeggione Sonata

Regular price €31.00 EUR
Regular price Sale price €31.00 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
View full details

Franz Schubert, Arpeggione Sonate

Arranged for string quartet and guitar by Hans Ovesen.

Franz Schubert (1797-1828) wrote the grand Sonata for Arpeggione and piano in 1824. Almost unknown today, the arpeggione was a bowed instrument resembling a hybrid between a guitar and a cello. It was invented only a year before Schubert wrote the sonata, which is thought to have been written for his friend Vinzent Schuster, a virtuoso arpeggione player. However, it was some 50 years before the work was published, by which time the instrument had fallen into oblivion.
The sonata is available in different arrangements, with the arpeggione replaced by other instruments such as cello, viola, or flute. In the arrangement presented here, I have replaced it with the guitar - an obvious choice considering the relationship between the two instruments. The piano part has been transcribed into a string quartet (two violins, viola and cello). In the arrangement, both the guitar and the string quartet are as close to the voicings and harmonies in the original composition as possible. But the
distribution of the piano voices into the four strings is of my own devising.
Januar 2021, Hans Ovesen

  • Product: PDF or Print on Demand
  • Length:  56 pages full score, + 12, 3x16, and 20 pages parts, a total of 136 pages.
  • Level: Intermediate to advanced
  • Order number:  BE-210414
  • ISMN 979-0-706819-17-4