Skip to product information
1 of 4


Chopin-Whittle, Etude, Andante Spianato, Waltz

Chopin-Whittle, Etude, Andante Spianato, Waltz

Regular price €12.00 EUR
Regular price Sale price €12.00 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
View full details

Frédéric Chopin
A collection of three pieces by Chopin arranged for solo guitar by Rod Whittle.

The early etude ‘Tristesse’, meaning sadness, hinges on one of those exquisite themes instantly recognisable as Chopin. It is introduced immediately, and after a dramatic culmination moves into a section of diminished chords and roving modulations suggestive of torment before a bravura section and a seamless return to the theme. A brief and lovely coda concludes the piece.

The Andante spianato (spianato means 'smooth') was composed in 1834 as an introduction to the Grande polonaise brilliante. The quiet introductory section of the Andante, in 6/8, is rounded by a chordal trio and a more processional 3/4. A serene middle section adds contrast, floating through upper octaves in quintessential Chopin style.

The Waltz Op. 64 No. 1, popularly known in English as the 'Minute Waltz', is a famous example of the melodic and harmonic capabilities intimated above. It doesn't have to be played in a minute, and works nicely at a sedate pace. Indeed Chopin is reported to have often deviated from his original tempo markings when he played, and melody is generally revealed best at slow or moderate tempos. 

  • Product: Digital PDF or Print on Demand
  • Pages: 20
  • Level: Advanced
  • ISMN 979-0-706815-11-4
  • Order number: BE-200324