Skip to product information
1 of 3


Wester-Mozart, Fantasia K. 397

Wester-Mozart, Fantasia K. 397

Regular price €8.50 EUR
Regular price Sale price €8.50 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
View full details

The Fantasia was composed in 1782, right after Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart moved to Vienna. Mozart got the message that he was dismissed from his position at the Salzburg court. He chose to move to Vienna, where he was offered great opportunities, but also a less secure financial situation. He lived there until his death in 1791. A majority of Mozart's works are in major keys. It seems that when Mozart composed in minor keys, he had to squeeze all his tragic feelings into these few compositions. The Fantasia K.397 starts with an Andante in the key of D minor and continues with an Adagio, which is interrupted several times by dramatic twists and turns, rests with fermatas, fierce Presto passages before it ends with an Allegretto in D major. This guitar transcription is highly demanding, both technically and musically. I chose to change the key from D minor to E minor in order to get more open string sonorities, and easier to play. There are many tricky parts in this piece.

  • Product: PDF or Print on Demand
  • Pages: 115 bars, 12 pages
  • Level: Advanced
  • Extras: All versions are included in the PDF download

Listen to Stefan Wester playing the Fantasia on YouTube:

Edit with fingerings: ISMN 979-0-706821-42-9
TAB with tablature: ISMN 979-0-706821-73-3