Skip to product information
1 of 5


O'Carolan-Bocklenberg, Suite I & II

O'Carolan-Bocklenberg, Suite I & II

Regular price €14.00 EUR
Regular price Sale price €14.00 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
View full details

Thomas Bocklenberg, O’Carolan-Suites I & II

for Lute in G 10 courses or Archlute in G 13 courses, French tablature.

Two suites with 10 movements in total after melodies by the Irish baroque harpist and composer Turlough O'Carolan. Compiled and arranged by Thomas Bocklenberg.

Turlough O'Carolan combines Irish folklore and the gesture of the art music of his time. This special quality inspired me to write two suites after his melodies. In addition to minor melodic variations and elaborated dynamics, there is a special harmonisation that gives my interpretation of his music its own colour.

Suite I
I. Planxty Irvine
II. George Brabazon (1st Air)
III. George Brabazon (2nd Air)
IV. Morgan Magan
V. Kean O'Hara (2nd Air)
VI. Dr. John Stafford or Carolan's Receipt

Suite II
I. Carolan's Welcome
II. Mrs. Sterling
III. Miss Noble
IV. Mary O'Neill or Carolan's Favorite Jig

  • Product: Self-Print (PDF) or Print on Demand
  • Length: 24 pages. 
  • Level: Advanced
  • ISMN 979-0-706824-94-9
  • Order number: BE-220804